We use cookies to enhance your experience on our website. By continuing to use our website, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Find out more

Book of the Month: The Girl with the Shark’s Teeth

The Girl with the Shark’s Teeth

By Cerrie Burnell
Perfect for children aged 9–12

Minnow feels an irresistible pull to water, and beneath the waves she feels free. When her mother goes missing in the dead of night, Minnow must follow the call of the Wild Deep in search of answers and journey to a hidden world where fairytales become reality.

Win a copy of the book!

To celebrate the release of this stunning and original book, we’re giving away a copy to five lucky winners!

The Girl with the Shark’s Teeth charts Minnow’s incredible journey from Brighton to Barbados – via Reykjavik and the magical Wild Deep – to discover her heritage. For a chance to win a copy of the book, we want to know where your child would sail if they could go absolutely anywhere. Whether it’s a country they’d love to visit, or somewhere out of this world, tell us!

To enter, sail over to our Facebook page and complete the entry form.

UK residents only. Entry closes at 11.59pm on Sunday 27th January 2019.
Terms and conditions apply.

About the book

Please note: all book links lead to more information on Amazon.co.uk

The Girl with the Shark’s Teeth

By Cerrie Burnell

Minnow is different from the other girls in her town. There’s plenty to set her apart: the blossom of pale scars which lie beneath her delicate ears, her affinity with the water which leaves people speechless, and the time when, in deep, deep water, her body began to glow like a sunken star. She has grown up on a boat, raised on stories and songs about a strange, enchanted ocean called The Wild Deep. Now with her mother missing, and questions to be answered, Minnow must make the dangerous journey to a hidden world, where fairytales become reality. Can a girl who is lost on land find answers in the Wild Deep?

A story that’s full of strong seafaring women, this book celebrates the power of storytelling. It began when Cerrie Burnell’s dual heritage daughter asked her if there were mermaids who looked like her, and where they lived. She realized that families like hers were rarely represented in children’s literature in a positive magical context, and so she set out to create characters who show that differences are the very thing that make them powerful.

Buy on Amazon >

About the author

Cerrie Burnell is a writer, actor, and former CBeebies presenter, who in recent years has made a name for herself as one of the most exciting new children’s authors on the scene. She has written several picture books including Snowflakes, which was performed at the Oxford Playhouse to great acclaim in 2016, and her young fiction series Harper, which has been set to music by the Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra. The Girl with the Shark’s Teeth is her stunning debut for readers aged 9+.

In 2017, Cerrie left CBeebies with a commitment to push diversity in other directions. She will be visiting schools all over the UK in 2019 and will also be appearing on CBBC Newsround and Blue Peter online on Monday 21st January.

Book Extras

Watch Cerrie read an extract from The Girl with the Shark’s Teeth below.

More from Oxford Owl

You may also be interested in:

Secret of the Sirens

Secret of the Sirens

Julia Golding

Find more mystical creatures of the deep in this first book in the Companions Quartet – a series that’s perfect for fans of Fantastic Beasts. When Connie is sent to live with her aunt, she finds herself at the heart of the secret Society for the Protection of Mythical Creatures, a group of people sworn to ensure that mythical beasts are kept safe. But now the society is in danger. Connie has always had the ability to communicate with animals, but can she protect the wild and mysterious creatures and resist the dark side?

Buy on Amazon >

Riddle of the Runes

Riddle of the Runes

Janina Ramirez

Another feisty female character, accompanied by her faithful hound: meet shield maiden Alva and her sniffer wolf, Fen, in a series that combines Viking history, adventure, and mystery. Being out alone when there’s a kidnapper on the loose is reckless, but if she ever wants to be an investigator like her Uncle Magnus, she’ll need to be first to the crime scene. But what Alva discovers raises more questions than it answers, drawing her into a dangerous search for truth, and for treasure.

Buy on Amazon >

Night Speakers

Night Speakers

Ali Sparkes

Night after night Elena, Matt, and Tima wake at exactly the same time, with no idea why. When they venture out into the dark and find each other, the sleepless trio realize their astounding power – they can speak any language. They can even communicate with animals. But something is happening over on the industrial estate. Something which is emitting sounds that only they can hear, and killing any winged thing that crosses its path. There’s nobody to fight it but themselves, for only they can possibly understand it…

Buy on Amazon >